Volumetrics – The new “it” diet

Volumetrics has been named the #1 diet, according to Consumer Reports.  Ever hear of it?  Neither have I, until now.  The weight loss principle behind the diet plan is the least amount of calories per maximum amount of volume.  (Think foods that have high water content, like fruits, vegetables and soups).

Like most newer diet plans, the idea is to not cut out all the foods you like, but to control the portions, frequency of eating, and place an emphasis on natural and whole grain foods.

For more info, check out http://www.volumetricseatingplan.com.

Launching soon, www.fitfiend.com 

2 Responses to Volumetrics – The new “it” diet

  1. wellness4weightloss says:

    I actually have heard of it – but haven’t read much about it. I believe its based on “Energy Density” as opposed to the Glycemic Index – the science shows that Energy Density (basically how much water is in a food, so how filling is it & how nutritious is it) is more important to weight loss, but using the Glycemic Index can help you keep your blood sugar level. They both have merit. I think this new diet, like with any other, there’s “some truth”, and probably something to be learned. But always need to come back to the well balanced, nutritious way of eating in order to be truly healthy, don’t you think?

    Karen
    http://www.wellnessforweightloss.net

  2. fitfiend says:

    “I think this new diet, like with any other, there’s “some truth”, and probably something to be learned. But always need to come back to the well balanced, nutritious way of eating in order to be truly healthy, don’t you think?”

    Completely 100% agree. I guess, though, for some it is easier than others. I personally cannot go on any “diet” per se. I just know some rules of thumb and try to stick to them, though I do admit I more heavily weight my physical activity than what I am eating in my regimen.

Leave a Reply

