The Sweet Leaf

A new sugar substitute may be making an impact in the EU and US soon, if Coca-Cola and Cargill have their way.  Stevia, a little green herb indigenous to South America and widely used in Asia, is now being developed for mass consumption, under the brand name, Rebiana.

Keep Reading

6 Responses to The Sweet Leaf

  1. teeni says:

    This has been available in the US for a while now but, because of pressure from other artificial sweetener companies ,has not been able to be marketed as a sweetener but instead as a food supplement – look for it in health food aisles if you can not find it near the “sugars.” More info here: http://www.stevia.net/ (especially under history). Great post though – it will make people more aware that they have other choices besides cane sugar and artificial sweeteners.

  2. fitfiend says:

    Thanks! I was using it in my coffee this morning. Can’t say I like it better than Splenda; it is still a little bit bitter…

  3. Believe575 says:

    I’ve been using sweet leaf stevia for years and i absolutely love it. I love the fact that is zero calories, carbs, glycemic index and chemicals. It cant any better than that. The flavor can be bitter if you use to much of it. I prefer using a few drops on the liquid stevia. Especially the vanilla crème with my coffee the Lemon drop in my water and the chocolate raspberry in my plain yogurt. Ummmm…can you tell I love it! You should check out sweetleaf.com – to me, they have the best products out there!

  4. Jes says:

    I the post you asked, is there really a need for another sweetener to replace or compete with Splenda.

    What are the side effects or potential complications of using Splenda (if any)? I used to know it but I forgot. 😉

    Jes

  5. Jes says:

    I the post you asked, is there really a need for another sweetener to replace or compete with Splenda.

    What are the side effects or potential complications of using Splenda (if any)? I used to know it but I forgot. 😉

    Jes
    http://www.visfitness.com

  6. zeviablogger says:

    Yes. I totally agree that stevia is getting more popular here in the U.S. In fact, there exists a carbonated stevia supplement called Zevia and it is based out of Seattle, WA. Its got all the pop and fizz of a diet soda without all the harmful effects of artificial sweeteners. It’s a great tasting all natural sugar free alternative to diet soda and comes in three varieties: cola, orange, and twist (lemon-lime). I was an avid diet soda drinker until I learned of the harmful effects of the artificial sweeteners, so this gives me a great choice when I have that craving for diet soda.

Leave a Reply

