It’s all about the core!

Core training is enormously important for, well, anyone. For people who work out a lot, and for people who don’t work out at all, a strong core is essential.

In the case of athletes and exercise freaks, a strong midsection serves a functional purpose. It helps the body adapt to different levels of physical stress and stabilize itself. As an athlete growing up, I was well aware of how important a solid core was, and now as someone who continues to train in and out of the gym, it has not lost its importance. I feel that any strength gains I have seen in certain fundamental exercises such as bench pressing or squatting has only been possible because I make sure I hit my core.

In terms of people who do not do any real exercise, they don’t need a stronger core to help with their squats, obviously, but rather, for their everyday functioning. The most prevalent physical ailment among US adults is back pain. Some sources of back pain come from poor posture, and again, just everyday functioning, whether holding a bag of groceries or picking up their child. A stronger core defrays the stress placed directly on the back, which is why it is so important.

One of my favorite things for core strengthening is the Swiss ball, or exercise ball. There are so many exercises that you can do with this simple accessory. There are the standard crunches that you can do that increase your range of motion, hitting your upper abs even harder, but there are also a whole lot more things you can do.

Some simple exercises that you can do with the exercise ball for your core are bridges. These are great for people beginning, and you can do more variations as your core strengthens. For example, you put your body into a plank position, only your feet are on the of the ball, while making sure your abs and back are tight and your body is straight. Once you can do this easily, a variation would be to have your hands also on an exercise ball, so your body acts as a bridge between the two.

One of my most favorite core exercises to do with the exercise ball is the jackknife. You position your body as you would in a bridge with only your feet on the ball, then you roll the ball into your body with your feet, then you roll your feet back out. It is sick for your lower abdominals.

Another really advanced core exercise to do with the exercise ball is stand and balance on it. I haven’t been able to do more than get on all fours and balance on it, like I am a frog. Hopefully, one day I’ll be able to do this; it takes a SICK core to be able to get on the ball and balance.

These are just a few things you can do, other than the standard crunch on the exercise ball, that will really work out your core. Watch the following video, though, for some things NOT to do with it.

Enjoy!

www.fitfiend.com

 

9 Responses to It’s all about the core!

  1. BJ Dillahey says:

    Hi,
    I think I got your blog by looking around for a way to drop 20 lbs in 2 months. You think it’s possible? I recently hurt my back and because I was injured for like 4 months I ended up gaining 20 friggin pounds. And now summer is around the corner and all squishy around the mid-sectioon! any suggestions? I already bought the Tr-Athlete DVD and that seems like it’s going to do me well. Do you think I have to stop drinking altogether? Cuz that would suck!

  2. fitfiend says:

    Well, I am not a trainer, but I could tell you what I would do if I were trying to drop 20 in 2 months.

    First of all, I would stop drinking altogether. Not only is that an extra source of calories, but it will sap your energy. When I drink, I tend to stay up later, and sleep later. Also, if I have a few drinks and am hungry, it makes it super difficult to remain disciplined. Besides, it would only be for a few weeks.

    Otherwise, I would also make sure I am very, very focused on what I am eating when. A high protein diet, with only whole grain complex carbs when I eat carbs, which I would never ever eat at night.

    Email me if you want some more tips, and good luck!

  3. yogalamb says:

    I’ve always been lazy about doing core exercises — mainly because I don’t already have a strong core. I hate when I’m really struggling when working out at the gym.

    Taking pilates classes was a good way for me to ease into getting my body to the point where I could insert targeted core exercises into my regular strength training without feeling like it was a total chore.

  4. BJ Dillahey says:

    Fitfiend…
    Thanks for the reply and the advice. I’m going to try and knock out the drinking for 2 weeks. After that, maybe a glass of wine at dinner or something. Protein and water diet, weights, yoga. If it works I’ll pass it on!

  5. […] the Fiend talks about core strength, and then at the bottom links to something from Youtube that made me laugh hard. Remember how I […]

  6. […] Fit Fiend additionally has advice on core training, plus scroll to the end of the post for a funny clip of what NOT to do, taken from The Office. […]

  7. SOG knives says:

    SOG knives…

    Interesting ideas… I wonder how the Hollywood media would portray this?…

  8. bloons td 5 says:

    Hi to every single one, it’s in fact a good for me to go to see this web page, it contains priceless Information.

  9. home gym reviews 2013 says:

    Unquestionably consider that that you said. Your favourite reason seemed
    to be at the web the simplest factor to take into account of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed even as other people consider issues
    that they plainly do not know about. You
    managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the entire thing with no
    need side effect , folks can take a signal. Will likely be
    again to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

