Is it rude? (Group Fitness)

Do most group fitness instructors find it rude when participants leave class early?

I was a culprit this past weekend. I went to a spin class, and literally, within 5 minutes, I decided that I did not feel like doing any cardio, so I got up and left. Now, there was nothing wrong with this particular instructor. I have taken his class a few times, and he is definitely above average, but didn’t feel like I had it in me to do cardio and strength training.

With other instructors who I do not like, I usually just leave when I see they are teaching, and try to be as inconspicuous as possible, before the class starts. Occasionally, (and this is probably the worst thing to do) I decide to give someone whose class I do not like that much another chance. Invariably, after 15 minutes of a frustratingly annoying workout (for me, in any case), I up and leave.

If I were an instructor, I would probably think this is pretty rude. 1) It could be a distraction to the instructor, who might then become more self conscious of his/her own performance. Then again, maybe it is their job to deal with this sort of thing. 2) It definitely is a distraction for other people; it takes away from the rhythm and energy of the class. I have gotten to points in a class where I see someone leave early, and that makes me lose a little bit of motivation. It is for this latter reason that when I go to a 2 hour spin class, the instructor makes us commit to either a normal 45 minutes, or else the full 2 hours. Imagine starting to fight after about an hour and a half of intense spinning, and then people start getting off their bikes with just a little bit left of the class to go.

I would be curious to know what most fitness instructors think about this. Do you hate these early leavers? Do you even notice when this happens?

One Response to Is it rude? (Group Fitness)

  1. […] A while back I was wondering if instructors cared whether students left class early. I wasn’t sure if it was disruptive for the class or if it was offensive, since a lot of time […]

Leave a Reply

